Categorized | Translation News

If You Love Languages This Book Is A Must For You

Translations experts have always said when it comes to speaking the queen’s language properly, or any other language for that matter, there is always a state of confusion as to which way to speak is the right way!!

There have been numerous examples of differences between the spoken word and the written word, especially in cases at the esteemed French Academy, say translations updates. The French Academy is an institution which believes that nothing would ever change and no new phrases or words can enter a language unless total defamation of a particular language is on the mind of the many who bring in new words, says translation news.

However much of the French folk think they are perfect or that’s what they opine. If you take a look a couple of years ago, at the Illinois State University, a professor of French, spoke of the famous novel, Babbitt. A passage which underwent translations from that book where Myra refers to her husband as HON, the word HON was not figured out by the French professional translations team and hence they brought a conclusion for the words, which is HONORABLE. This they did without even knowing, the word HON is used mostly by American homemakers out of love for their husbands or partners.

To understand the evolution of language, one must bank upon a book by Robert Lane Greene, You Are What You Speak, says translation updates experts. Green works for the famous tabloid, THE ECONOMIST and hence has thorough knowledge of what he propagates to the world, say experts with translation news. The author also opines that the language, English is only evolving at a pace faster than other languages and not on the decline as many believe it to be, say translation news experts.

Language is even manipulated to a large extent to gain benefits in the political arena. Politicians as translation experts say use professional translations services to reach out to the public where the common language is not English. He goes on to add that no matter who you read, be it an Oliver Twist or even Henry Wood, the essence of the texts that have undergone translations shouldn’t be lost or the purpose of having professional translations done would take a beating like no mans business.

In today’s context, most of the professional translations bank on manual or high end applications to aid in translations. Greene is of the opinion that writers would lose their audience and not gain them if the effective parts of the texts don’t make any sense to those who read in their own language. Most of the youth today would be unaware of the best works written and documented, if professional translations lose out on the quality of translations they aim to bring forth.

Whether or not translations is an answer to most issues, is yet a debate. For now this is one of the books by Greene, which should tell you more about translations and how language has evolved.

Be Sociable, Share!

Leave a Reply

*

Translation