Categorized | Translation News

Google Translate adds more Indic languages

Google Translate announced last week support of five new alpha languages namely Bengali, Gujarati, Kannada, Tamil and Telugu which are spoken by more than 500 million people in the Indian subcontinent alone. This brings the total no. of languages supported by Google Translate to 63. The Indic languages differ primarily from English in the way in which words are ordered in a sentence. While it is usually subject, verb, object in English, it is subject, object and verb in the former. Further these languages are agglutinative in nature which means words have affixes that change the number or tense completely. These two aspects make translation very challenging.

Since these Indic languages have their own script, a transliterated input method has been made available which allows existing QWERTY keyboards to be used for typing the closest match to the words in them. For more information please visit

Be Sociable, Share!

Leave a Reply